Care & Spare parts
Care & Spare parts

Care & Spare parts

Care & Spare parts

Care & Maintenance

ic! berlin glasses are designed so that you can break them down into their individual parts and put everything back together in under a minute, without the need for extra tools.

We recommend taking your glasses apart regularly for a full clean, paying special attention to the groove between lens and frame; this area seems to be a magnet for dirt and oils. A soft-bristled toothbrush is your friend here.

The best way to clean your ic! berlin frame is to wash with cold or lukewarm water and a mild household detergent. Oil based detergents such as dishwashing liquid can leave a greasy residue, so we recommend water or alcohol based solutions, such as window cleaners. Avoid chlorinated or harsh cleaners such as bleach, and remember: salt is the natural enemy of stainless steel!

While we do not recommend them, ultrasonic baths may be used, but only after the frame has been completely disassembled: remove all clips, nose pads and temple tips first. Frame fronts must be kept moving at all times in an ultrasonic bath.

After a quick rinse, dry everything off with an oil-free tissue or your ic! berlin polishing cloth and you’re good to go! Make sure all parts are completely dry before putting your frame back together, paying special attention to the lens groove, temple tips and clips.

And if this all just seems too much, your local ic! berlin dealer will happily clean and adjust your glasses for you.

Temple Tips & Nose pads

Tips & Pads improve grip and provide a soft cushion between metal and skull. Because they are in constant contact with your skin and/or hair they may discolour or perish over time (due to sweat, cosmetics etc.). As soon as they start to look a little worse for wear, head to your authorised ic! berlin dealer for a new set.

There are three flavours of temple tips and nose pads in our collection: Thermoplastic Elastomer (TPE), silicone and acetate.

TPE and Silicone

TPE and Silicone tips can be cold adjusted by hand to achieve the perfect fit.

Acetate

Acetate temple tips can be buffed and polished if they start to show signs of wear, but be aware that this can shorten their life span. Regular cleaning will prevent this altogether and prolong the life of your frame.

**ACHTUNG** Acetate temples and temple tips must be heated before adjusting or they will crack. This is best done by your local ic! berlin dealer. Temples with TPE or silicon tips can be adjusted cold.

The plotic! Vario temple tip Plotic! Vario temple tips

Know your nose pad

TPE (left and right)
 

Slim nose pads

Fat nose pads

 
Sillicone (universal)
 

Slim nose pads

Fat nose pads

Drop-shaped

 
Acetate (universal)
 
 
 

These fat nose pads are like a Wonderbra for your nose. They will push your frame up and out to make up for any shortcommings you may have in the nasal department - cheaper and quicker than a nose job!

 

Adapters Adapters nose pads

TPE and silicone drop-shaped nosepads can be fitted to frames with acetate nose pads. To ensure a secure fit, an acrylic adapter must first be inserted into the nose pad cavity. The new nose pad can then be mounted as usual, ensuring that the adapter remains on the outer of the nasal arm (away from the nose when the frame is worm):

nasal arm

adapter
for TPE

TPE pad

 

adapter
for silicone

TPE pad

 

ACHTUNG! CHOKING HAZARD! Keep out of reach of children and pets.

 

Temples

If the hinge on your frame starts clicking, or doesn’t open and close as smoothly as it should, a drop of sewing machine oil will bring it back to life.

If you notice a drop in tension in the hinge, simply bend the middle prong back into its original position, so that it lower than the outer two.

temple

The outer prongs keep the temple sitting securely in the hinge. If they are spread too wide, the temple will wobble around in the hinge. Just bend them back together to keep everything nice and snug:

temple

Thermoplastic elastomer (TPE) temple tips can be easily bent by hand to fit behind the ears, no heat necessary! Acetate temple tips, however, must be heated before adjusting.

temple

Reinigung & Ersatzteile
Reinigung & Ersatzteile

Reinigung & Ersatzteile

Reinigung & Ersatzteile

Reinigung & Pflegehinweise

Brillen von ic! berlin können dank ihrer Konstruktion sekundenschnell und mühelos zerlegt und wieder zusammengefügt werden; per Hand, ohne Werkzeuge.

Zur vollständigen Reinigung empfehlen wir Ihnen, Ihre Brille regelmäßig zu zerlegen und alle Einzelteile sorgfältig zu säubern. Achten Sie besonders auf die Rille zwischen Glas und Rahmen – dieser Bereich scheint Schmutz und Flüssigkeiten (wie Schweiß und Kosmetika) geradezu magisch anzuziehen. Hier wäre eine weiche Zahnbürste Ihr treuer Kumpan.

Für eine gründliche Reinigung waschen Sie Ihre ic! berlin am besten in kaltem oder lauwarmem Wasser mit mildem Haushaltsreiniger. Ölbasierte Waschmittel wie Geschirrspülmittel können einen Fettfilm hinterlassen, weshalb wir Lösungen auf Wasser- oder Alkoholbasis wie z. B. Fensterreiniger empfehlen. Vermeiden Sie chlorierte oder aggressive Reinigungsmittel wie zum Beispiel Bleichmittel und denken Sie daran, dass Salz der natürliche Feind von Edelstahl ist!

Ultraschallbäder empfehlen wir zwar nicht, doch man kann sie durchführen. Davor sollte man jedoch den Rahmen vollständig zerlegen und als Erstes alle Clips, Nasenpads und Bügelenden abnehmen. Lackierte Teile müssen im Bad immer bewegt werden.

Schnell mit kaltem Wasser abspülen, mit Ihrem ic! berlin Poliertuch trocknen und schon sind Sie startklar! Achten Sie darauf, dass alle Teile vor dem Zusammenbau vollkommen trocken sind, insbesondere die Glasnut, die Bügelenden und die Clips.

Und wenn dass alles viel zu viel zu sein scheint, können Sie jederzeit zur Reinigung oder Anpassung Ihren freundlichen lokalen ic! berlin Händler besuchen.

Bügelende & Nasenpads

Die Bügelenden und Nasenpads verbessern Griff und sorgen für ein weiches Kissen zwischen Metall und Schädel. Aufgrund des ständigen Kontaktes mit Haut und Haaren können sie mit der Zeit etwas rissig werden. Sobald Sie anfangen etwas merkwürdig auszusehen, besorgen Sie sich bei Ihrem ic! berlin Händler einfach einen neuen Satz original ic! berlin-Formteile und Ihre Brille sieht wieder wie neu aus.

Bügelende und Nasenpads sind aus entweder thermoplastischem Elastomer (TPE), Silikon oder Acetat hergestellt.

TPE und Silicone

TPE-Bügelenden können ganz leicht mit der Hand gebogen werden, damit sie optimal hinter die Ohren passen. Sie müssen dafür nicht erwärmt werden! Acetat-Bügelenden hingegen müssen erwärmt werden, bevor sie angepasst werden können.

Acetat

Durch regelmäßiges Reinigen wird die Lebensdauer Ihrer Acetat-Bügelenden verlängert, doch auf Wunsch können Sie sie auch bei dem ic! berlin Händler Ihres Vertrauens aufpolieren lassen.

ACHTUNG: Acetat-Bügelenden müssen vor dem Biegen erwärmt werden, sonst brechen sie. Teile aus TPE oder Silikon können kalt von Hand gebogen werden. Am besten lassen Sie Ihre Brillen von dem ic! berlin Händler Ihres Vertrauens an Ihre Bedürfnisse anpassen.

The plotic! Vario temple tip Plotic! Vario temple tips

Nasenpad

TPE (left and right)
 

Europe

Asia

 
Sillicone (universal)
 

Europe

East

Drop-shaped

 
Acetate (universal)
 
 
 

Adapters Adapters nose pads

Nasenpads aus Acetat können mithilfe eines Adapters gegen TPE oder Silikon-Drop-Shaped Varianten ausgetauscht werden. Nachdem Sie den Adapter in die Nasenpadhöhle gesteckt haben kann das neue Nasenpad montiert werden so, dass der Adapter nicht auf der Nasenauflage-Seite (Hautseite) landet.

 

nasal arm

adapter
for TPE

TPE pad

 

adapter
for silicone

TPE pad

 

Bügel

Falls das Gelenk anfängt zu klicken oder sich nicht so geschmeidig öffnet und schließt wie es sollte, so erwacht es durch einen Tropfen Nähmaschinenöl wieder zu neuem Leben.

Falls die Spannung des Gelenks nachlässt, reicht es, den mittleren „Finger“ wieder in seine ursprüngliche Position zurückzubiegen, so dass er niedriger sitzt als die beiden äußeren.

temple

Die äußeren „Finger“ halten den Bügel sicher im Gelenk. Wenn sie zu weit nach außen gebogen sind, kann der Bügel im Gelenk hin und her rutschen. Biegen Sie sie einfach wieder zusammen, dann sitzt alles wieder fest und sicher.

temple

TPE-Bügelenden können ganz leicht mit der Hand gebogen werden, damit sie optimal hinter die Ohren passen. Sie müssen dafür nicht erwärmt werden! Acetat-Bügelenden hingegen müssen erwärmt werden, bevor sie angepasst werden können.

temple