Colours
Colours

Colours

Colours

Metal Colours

All ic! berlin metal frames are born naked from raw stainless steel. When it comes to dressing them up in colour we choose Physical Vapour Deposition or high-quality lacquer.

Physical Vapour Deposition (PVD)

PVD is a process in which we vacuum-deposit a thin layer of crystals - ten times thinner than a human hair - directly into the surface of the metal. These crystals reflect light at certain wavelengths to produce vibrant, irridescent colours.

The PVD coating is extremely durable and scratch resistant, however over time you may notice slight changes at points of constant mechanical stress (i.e. hinges). This is unfortunately unavoidable, but we like to think it adds a little character and individuality to your glasses.

Lacquer

Some colours and finishes are impossible to achieve through PVD, so to give you as many options as we can we turn to traditional high quality lacquer. Lacquered parts are coated up to five times by hand before being cooked and set in an oven. This coating is softer and more elegant than PVD and meets the impossibly high quality standards of the wizards down in the ic! Innovation and Development Lab.

eggshell
off white
desert
deep hasel
brown mud
taubenblau
aqua
Marine blue
bordeaux

Colours
Colours

Colours

Colours

Metall Farben

Alle ic! berlin Metallbrillen werden auf die gleiche Art aus rohem Edelstahl hergestellt. Die Farben entstehen dann durch Physical Vapour Deposition oder hochwertige Lackierung.

Physical Vapour Deposition (PVD)

Durch PVD wird eine hauchfeine Kristallschicht – zehnmal dünner als ein menschliches Haar – unter Vakuum direkt auf der Oberfläche des Metalls abgelagert. Diese Schicht reflektiert bestimmte Wellenlängen des Lichts, um knallige, leuchtende Farben zu kreieren. Aber auch die Farben Schwarz oder Gold werden so erzeugt.

Die Schicht ist extrem hart und kratzfest, mit der Zeit können jedoch an mechanisch belasteten Stellen (z. B. Gelenke) leichte Veränderungen auftreten. Dies ist leider nicht zu vermeiden. Doch wir finden, dass Ihre Brille dadurch an Charakter und Geschichte gewinnt.

Lack

Bestimmte Farben und Töne können wir mit PVD nicht erschaffen. Um Ihnen nahezu unendlich viele Farben und Farbkombinationen anbieten zu können, lackieren wir daher manche Brillen. Die Lackierung erfolgt in reiner Handarbeit. Zur optimalen Haftung und Härte werden bis zu fünf Einzelschichten aufgetragen und in einem Einbrennofen ausgehärtet. Die entstehende Beschichtung ist weicher und edler als PVD und entspricht den hohen Qualitätsansprüchen der ic! Innovationsabteilung.

eggshell
off white
desert
deep hasel
brown mud
taubenblau
aqua
Marine blue
bordeaux